Exhale: The Entire Year of 2012

Exhale

Today’s Daily Prompt: Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright.

Oh, 2012.

Two-thousand twelve was a difficult year for me. It was my first year out of college, and I had a really hard time finding a full-time job.

Right after graduating in December 2011, I moved to Chicago. I had lots of dreams and high expectations.

I was confident. I was SO confident. In my 22 year-old head, I was going to apply for jobs at well-known corporations, land a job with floor-to-ceiling windows on the 55th floor of a building in downtown Chicago, and marry a really hot guy.

Spoiler Alert: none of that happened. 🙂

Doing what I had to do, I took a part-time job with Pottery Barn, as well as becoming a SPIN instructor at a workout facility. Both little jobs turned out to be jobs that I really loved, but I was barely paying my bills or covering rent at my studio in Rogers Park.

I worked at both places for a year before things were really catching up to me, and I was completely broke. Retail’s a difficult environment. It didn’t matter how good my sales were, or that I was consistent. My hours that I needed would be cut for whatever reason, and this was kind of the story of my life.

But then 2013 came!! YAY!! Two things happened in January 2013.

  1. I was offered a coaching position at a local high school, which was a better job than SPIN. Still part-time, but not only better money, more enjoyable, and I LOVED the team! Working this job and Pottery Barn would be doable. But…
  2. Not even a week after the coaching offer, which I accepted, I was offered a FULL-TIME JOB as an  HR Admin with a great salary and an even greater company!! AND A LUNCH BREAK!!!!

In less than one month, my life just got SO much better!! I could finally exhale. And it did really get better! Two-thousand thirteen was a tremendous year! I was on cloud-nine! From that moment on, I’ve been doing great and living comfortably.

Now that I look back and think about 2012, it really makes me appreciate the life that I have now, and who I’ve become. I wouldn’t be the person I am today without experiencing the risks that I took and the sacrifices I made in 2012.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

