Unexpected Guests

Unexpected Guests

Today’s Daily Prompt: You walk into your home to find a couple you don’t know sitting in your living room, eating a slice of cake. Tell us what happens next.

When the workday ends, my freedom begins. Once I leave the office I don’t have anyone telling me what to do, what to wear, or what to eat!

I walk up to my third floor apartment, and something is different. There are shoes that I don’t recognize on my welcome mat. It has been raining all day, so most of my neighbours already have their shoes and umbrellas outside their doors. But these aren’t my shoes.

My heart starts to beat fast. Is there a burglar in my place? At least if there is, they were nice enough to take their shoes off…

I slowly opened the door and I heard people talking! But they weren’t speaking English… I couldn’t understand a word of what I was hearing.

“Hello…?” My voice was shaky.

A woman came around the corner with her arms open as if to hug me- like she was welcoming me in my own apartment.

I didn’t really know what to say. I was confused, but I was just trying to keep it cool and stay calm. She started speaking, slowly and softly as if she was a little afraid of her own voice, but I didn’t understand her! I think she was speaking Russian, or something similar.

Then, someone else appeared right in front of me. Her husband, I’m assuming. He was holding a plate- my plate- with a piece of cake that I made last night. He seemed super friendly. His eyes smiled at me, and he seemed to be greeting me in some way.

“How long have you guys been here,” I asked.

They looked at me with blank expressions for a second before gesturing me into the living room where they made themselves at home on my sofa. They don’t speak any English.

“Where are you guys from?” I tried. But nothing.

I have a map obsession- I absolutely love maps, so I decided to fish one out from my bedroom and have them point out where they’re from.

They seemed to be so excited to show me. First, the woman pointed out a town in Urkraine, then she pointed out a town in Russia. The man also pointed out a town in Russia. Then, the woman pointed at herself, then pointed at her husband, and showed me a town in Argentina. This must be where they met.

Without further adieu, I grabbed myself a piece of my cake, sat down with my new friends, and continued getting to know them.

2 thoughts on “Unexpected Guests

Leave a Reply

