The Free Healthcare Myth

Yesterday, I got two wisdom teeth removed by a Canadian oral surgeon, so I thought this might be a good time to discuss one common misconception: Canadian’s have Free Healthcare.

Admittedly, I am definitely no expert on this topic, but at a glance, here’s what I know:

Every Canadian resident is covered by a provincial health insurance plan specific to where they live, meaning plans vary from province-to-province; however, healthcare is technically not free in Canada. While Canadians don’t receive bills from the hospital or doctors offices, they pay A LOT more in taxes than US citizens. Someone told me that a Canadian family can expect to pay almost half of its income in taxes. From what I understand, an additional fixed premium for health benefits are deducted from paychecks (paycheques) of the residents in B.C.

Higher taxes in Canada than in the US, but no hospital bills! Canadian’s also argue that the wait times to see a doctor are much longer than the wait times in the States. Apparently, you might wait six months to see someone more specialized, like a psychologist or dermatologist. This really sums up what I know about healthcare in Canada- British Columbia, specifically.

On a completely different note, as I was coming out of my laughing gas state, I pretended I was Ms. Pacman at the surgeon’s office yesterday, which is pretty awesome.

For my next post, I’m going to talk about the food here!!!! IT’S SO GOOD!!!!

PEACE & LOVE

2 thoughts on “The Free Healthcare Myth

  1. I’d have to say that a reasonably healthy adult makes out better in the US. But I’m interested in seeing some data on costs stateside versus Europe and Canada.

    Like

    • The one thing I didn’t mention, because I really don’t have enough evidence to back this up, is the fact that families earning more income pay higher taxes than those who make less.

      The reason I bring this up is because a person in the States making $40,000 may very well have a $40,000 hospital bill for breaking their leg in three places. But if this person never sees a doctor, they benefit in cost over a Canadian, but are they healthier?

      Like

Leave a Reply

